National Merit Program

Front: Finalists Ben Sutter, Marilyn Icsman and Chelsea Wein; Semifinalist Isabella Judge. Back: Commended Students Michael Smith, Nick Lewis, Gabriella Wittbrod, Maddie Grosklos, Joe Brennan, Josh Sukie and Will Freeman.

Eleven from Hoban recognized in 2016 National Merit competition

Three Hoban seniors—Marilyn Icsman, Benjamin Sutter and Chelsea Weinhave advanced to Finalist status in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship competition. Isabella Judge was designated a Semifinalist. Another seven—Joseph Brennan, Will Freeman, Maddie Grosklos, Nick Lewis, Michael Smith, Josh Sukie and Gabriella Wittbrod—were named Commended Students.

About 1.5 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the program by taking the 2014 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants.

About 15,000 of the 16,000 Semifinalists advanced to Finalist status in February 2016, based on academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership, and honors received.

Semifinalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors and are the highest-scoring entrants in each state and continue in the competition for some 7,400 scholarships to be awared in the spring. 

The designation of Commended Student recognizes the recipients’ exceptional academic promise shown on the test, but they do not continue in the competition for National Merit scholarships.

For a history of the performance of Hoban students in the National Merit program, click HERE.