Hoban celebrates student achievements for 2023-24

Hoban held the 2023-24 Summa Cum Laude Honors Celebration to recognize students who have been selected for prestigious awards and/or who have achieved highest honors for the first three of the four quarters during the academic year.

MONSIGNOR RICHARD A. DOWED SCHOOL SPIRIT AWARD: Senior Cole Harvey, junior Madison Watson, sophomore Rachel Greer and freshman Jackson Weaver-DeAngelis

The Monsignor Dowed Award is the highest award given by Hoban to honor students who have made outstanding contributions of their time, efforts and talents to the Hoban community. Faculty committees select one student from each grade level who has best exemplified the ideals of Christian service, leadership and spirit.


The Brother André Heart of Holy Cross Award is given to a senior who has taken the Holy Cross mission to heart and follows the example of Saint Brother André Bessette, welcoming others with the hospitality of Christ.

TORCHBEARER AWARD: Seniors Madison Curto and Cameron Young

Created in 2022, this award recognizes at least one senior who lights the way for their classmates and is anchored in the motif and symbolism of lightness.

MANHOOD AND WOMANHOOD AWARDS: Seniors Obed West and Annie Fuhrer

Each year, the Akron Council #547 of the Knights of Columbus recognizes a boy and a girl from each of the area’s Catholic high schools for outstanding scholarship and leadership.

The Optimist Award: Seniors Logan Adams and Carolyn Rinaldi

This award is given to one male and one female senior who excel academically and demonstrate high levels of commitment to school activities and exemplify Holy Cross core values.

Visit the Hoban Awards an Recognition page.