Markowski named a National Merit Scholarship recipient

On April 26, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) announced Hoban senior Joseph Markowski was among the students awarded a scholarship from a talent pool of more than 15,000 Finalists in the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program. Markowski has been selected as a winner of the National Merit James E. Casey Scholarship award sponsored by The UPS Foundation.

National Merit Scholarship winners have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors. Markowski plans to attend Case Western Reserve University to study Computer Science in the fall.

These Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the Finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®); contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official. More scholarship winners will be announced in May.