Three seniors named National Merit Semifinalists

Three Hoban seniors--Thomas Crowe, Isabelle Hahn and Alaina Lah--have been named Semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Competition. In addition, students designated as Commended Students will be announced in mid-September. Hoban is proud to have a long-standing tradition of naming more students recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Program than any other school in Summit County.

Every October, approximately 1.6 million juniors across the country take the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT). Students who score in the top one percent achieve the distinction of National Merit Semifinalist. Most of these students move on to become Finalists, with some winning scholarship money for college. Past Hoban NMSC information. story on area NMSC winners.