Each year, Hoban students never cease to amaze their teachers, peers and themselves. We proudly celebrate individuals and groups of students for their accomplishments in the classroom and beyond. 

2024  National Merit Recognized Students


Hoban seniors Megan Crowe and Jack Doucet have been named 2024 National Merit finalists by demonstrating high potential for future academic accomplishment. They will be considered for National Merit Scholarships. In all, four Hoban students were recognized this year at various levels. 

Hoban is proud to have a longstanding tradition of naming students recognized by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. In the last five years, 34 students have been recognized.

About 15,000 of the 16,000 semifinalists advance to finalist status, based on academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership and honors received. Finalists represent less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors and are the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

National Merit Commended Students

commended students

Archbishop Hoban High School is proud to announce two seniors have been named Commended Students in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program. Robert Kostko and Antonette Fuhrer are recognized for their exceptional academic promise demonstrated by their outstanding performance on the qualifying test used for program entry. 

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their academic successes. Although they will not continue in the 2024 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 students who entered the 2024 competition by taking the 2022 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.  

National College Board

Hoban students earn academic honors from the national college board

Hoban students SaKyah Collins, Mateo DeCola, Breeon Ellis, Marcel Ferrer (not pictured), Syvannarae Finsley, Charles Gaddis, Azhani Perry and Melissa Mora Robles have earned academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Programs. These National Recognition Programs grant underrepresented students with academic honors that can be included on college and scholarship applications and connect students with universities across the country, helping them meaningfully connect to colleges and stand out during the admissions process.

“We’re thrilled that these students have earned this distinguished recognition,” Principal T.K. Griffith said. “We are very proud of the way they represent the Hoban family in all they do in the classroom and in cocurriculars. This acknowledgment is a testament to their hard work and the support they receive from their parents, families and teachers.”

These eight students are among over 62,000 students from across the country to be awarded with academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Programs. More than 180,000 students were eligible to apply for the recognition. To be eligible, students must have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and have excelled on the PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10, or earned a score of 3 or higher on two or more AP exams.