Athletic Hall of Fame

The Hoban Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 1989. Accomplished Hoban athletes, coaches or athletic benefactors are honored in the induction ceremony, which is held every other year at Guy's Party Centre. Nominations can be made by any interested party.

Nomination Criteria

Nominees must hold high moral and spiritual values, and nomination forms must include documented proof of outstanding performance. Additional letters of support for the nominee are recommended. Athletes must have graduated from Hoban at least five years before nomination. Coaches must have at least five years of coaching experience at Hoban. Benefactors must have outstanding services to Hoban's athletic community. 

Hoban Athletic Hall of Fame

Inductees for the Class of 2019 were introduced during the football game on Sept. 6 as part of the Come Home to Hoban weekend. The induction ceremony was on Sunday, Sept. 8, 2019, at Guy's Party Centre.

Coach Bob Zupke


  • Third winningest coach in program history
  • First coach to beat St. Vincent
  • Three of the top five defenses all time at Hoban
  • Coached six current Hall of Fame members
  • Team finished third in the state in 1963

Tracy (Firth ’85) Crandall


  • Three varsity letters
  • Two-time state champion
  • Four varsity letters at the University of Akron
  • Tied first in games started in a season
  • Second all-time in runs in a season

Keith Matthews ’00


  • Two-way starter
  • Three varsity letters
  • All-City, All-Summit, All-NEO Inland
  • Three varsity letters at the University of Minnesota 

Tom Sitko ’03


  • Three-year starter at quarterback
  • 31-7 as starter
  • All-City, All-Summit, All-NEO Inland, All-State (punter)
  • Two varsity letters at Kent State University

Jessacca (Gironda ’10) Cleveland

Soccer, Basketball and Softball

  • 10 varsity letters
  • Soccer: All-District, All-NCL
  • Softball: All-District, All-NCL, Honorable Mention All-State
  • Soccer: four varsity letters at Kent State University
  • Softball: two varsity letters at Kent State University
  • All-MAC Freshman team, All-MAC
  • CoSida Academic All-American in both soccer and softball at KSU
  • KSU Medal of Excellence Female Athlete for the MAC as senior 

Juliana Libertin ’10

Soccer, Basketball, Track and Field

  • Nine varsity letters
  • Led the soccer team to final four three times
  • Soccer: NSCAA All-American, Beacon Journal player of the year
  • Track and field: 800m state champion, Three-time All-State
  • Soccer: University of Dayton Female Athlete of the Year
  • Atlantic 10 Conference Midfielder of the Year
  • Atlantic 10 First Team and All-Academic Team
  • First Team Academic All-Ohio and Athletic All-Ohio honors
  • NSCAA Scholar All-American honors

2019 Induction Ceremony

H O B A N      A T H L E T I C      H A L L      O F     F A M E

1990 Inductees

1992 Inductees

1994 Inductees

John R. Anich '76
Vincent J. Borelle
Clemens Caraboolad
John T. Neidert '64
Robert A. Neidert '67
Harry "Butch" Reynolds '83
Donald D. Schubert
Richard L. Thomann '68
Donald F. Zwisler '64
Chuck Kelly
Paul R. Baldacci Sr.
Dawn L. Heideman '85
Charles G. Mesko '68
Richard E. Sayre '71
Richard J. DiCola '83
Sheri A. (Firth '81) Schott
Mary E. Howard
Maureen McMullen '86
Raymond J. Pritt '58

1996 Inductees

1998 Inductees

2000 Inductees

Tina (Godzinski '87) Gustely
Kelly Conner '82
Tony Blanchard '69
Kim Michalak '66
Barry Burnett '79
Rachel (Cowley '89) Tecca
R. Daniel DeGeorge
Dick Malloy
Richard Owens '74
Pat McDonald '63
Tami (McDermott '88) Folk
Jeff Reynolds '84
Kenny Robinson '88
Debbie (Firth '82) Brown

2002 Inductees

2004 Inductees

2006 Inductees

Ralph Paonessa '60
Peggy Stitz-Schmucker '81
Patrick Dobbin '87
Lindsay Latson '78
Patti (Godzinski '92) Hardman
Dennis Murphy '57
Michael Dudock '60
Melissa (Sturm '88) Christ
Lakumba Wallace '89
Leon Jones '92
Richard "Dick" Dougherty '68
David Hankins '88
Donnie Zwisler '90
Nathaniel "Nate" Fillmore "96
Jacki Windon '97

2008 Inductees

2010 Inductees

2012 Inductees

Joe Palmisano '71
Derrick Owens '89
Paul Donatelli '93
Matt Boswell '99
Tony Sutton '01
Tom Merlitti '67
Dan Heideman '89
Nathaniel Riles "93
Philip LoCascio '97
Alicia (Longstreth '98) Gaffney
Dan Leonard '60
John Goodson '79
Amy (Madrin '86) Mathia
Margo (Ruther '92) Ohlson
Tyrell Sutton '05

2014 Inductees

2016 Inductees

2017 Inductees

Marty Schara '58
John Ross '67
Lee Langford '87
Ray Edmonds '92
Melissa (Martis '96) McClelland
Joe Cotton '93
Bobby Johnson '91
Michael Johnson '67
Joe Lutz '66
Rachel Tecca '09 
Mike Urbano '62
Richard Maher '68
Angela (Lockhart '96) Watson
Tenishia Benson '07
Coach Ralph Orsini

2019 Inductees


Coach Bob Zupke
Tracy (Firth '85) Crandall
Keith Matthews '00
Tom Sitko '03
Jessacca (Gironda '10) Cleveland
Juliana Libertin '10